1818 – Wisconsin Becomes Part of Michigan Territory

On this date, the land encompassing current-day Wisconsin was made part of the Michigan Territory, representing one step in . Wisconsin was a part of the Northwest Territory from July 13, 1787-May 11, 1800; the Indiana Territory from May1800-February 3, 1809; and the Illinois Territory from February 3, 1809-April 18, 1818. The Territory of Wisconsin was formed July 4, 1836.