1839 – Dane County Officials Selected

On this date the of elected Dane County Commissioners met to select their officers. At their first meeting, convened at the Madison Hotel, the following individuals were selected to serve as county officials: Lafayette Kellogg, county clerk;, county treasurer; William Wheeler, county assesser; R.L. Ream, register of deeds; David Hyer, county coroner; and Adam Smith and James Ubaldine, county constables. [Source: – December 20 1886]